Friday, May 20, 2022
  • Home

New Certifications Expected Soon For MCP Program

August 6th, 2005 by Joseph Bittman MCSD .Net

The MCP Program has announced that it will create distinctive certifications for Developers and IT Professionals. The new names for them will be Microsoft Certified Professional Developer (MCPD) and Microsoft Certified IT Professional. They will also have Microsoft Certified Technology Specialists, which are certified in one technology. This is a very important (and smartly decided) decision that they have made to seperate whether people are professionals in Development or IT Administration.

The MCPDs have a number of different sub-distinctions such as “Web Developer” or “Windows Developer”. There is also the “Enterprise Application Developer” distinction that will be the successor to the MCSD credential.

Upgrade paths:

MCADs need to take 1 exam each to upgrade to the Web and Windows Developer credentials. Therefore, MCADs need to take 2 exams to be a certified Web & Windows Developer.

MCSDs can take 2 exams to upgrade to the Enterprise Application Developer credential. This is the same amount as MCADs require to upgrade to the less appealing, Web & Windows Developer credential, so it might be worthwhile to take the extra 2 exams on .Net 1.1 right now, so that you can upgrade more easily to the Enterprise credential.

Information on the MCSA & MCSE upgrade paths have not been released yet, although there is expected to be more information on this latest certification move by Microsoft in September.

Read more about this latest announcement at

Posted in MS News | Comments Off on New Certifications Expected Soon For MCP Program

This entry was posted on Saturday, August 6th, 2005 at 10:14 am and is filed under MS News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.