Has Microsoft.com been hacked?
Zack Whittaker
This has me really confused - I was checking my WHOIS for my domain names to see when I need to renew them, and thought I’d check out Microsoft’s WHOIS as a simple query. After going to a number of different websites to verify this, I saw this on the WHOIS search. If anyone has any idea how this could have happened, let us know.
Please note: some strong language in places. If anyone has a low disposition, please don’t read some of the things below.
Edit: Wendy, in your lame attempt to explain this one to me (bless), it seems that Google and a lot of the other big websites out there have the sam problem. It’s not down to the individual websites, it’s something to do with the WHOIS search itself. I think…
Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information. MICROSOFT.COM.ZZZZZ.GET.LAID.AT.WWW.SWINGINGCOMMUNITY.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.ZZZOMBIED.AND.HACKED.BY.WWW.WEB-HACK.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.ZZZ.IS.0WNED.AND.HAX0RED.BY.SUB7.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.WILL.LIVE.FOREVER.BECOUSE.UNIXSUCKS.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.WILL.BE.SLAPPED.IN.THE.FACE.BY.MY.BLUE.VEINED.SPANNER.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.WILL.BE.BEATEN.WITH.MY.SPANNER.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.WAREZ.AT.TOPLIST.GULLI.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.TOTALLY.SUCKS.S3U.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.SMELLS.SIMPLECODES.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.SHOULD.GIVE.UP.BECAUSE.LINUXISGOD.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.RAWKZ.MUH.WERLD.MENTALFLOSS.CA
MICROSOFT.COM.OHMYGODITBURNS.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.LOVES.ME.KOSMAL.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.LIVES.AT.SHAUNEWING.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.NOT.YEPPA.ORG
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.NOT.HOSTED.BY.ACTIVEDOMAINDNS.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.NOT.AS.COOL.AS.SIMPLECODES.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.IN.BED.WITH.CURTYV.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.HOSTED.ON.PROFITHOSTING.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.GOD.BECOUSE.UNIXSUCKS.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.A.STEAMING.HEAP.OF.FUCKING-BULLSHIT.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.A.MESS.TIMPORTER.CO.UK
MICROSOFT.COM.HAS.ITS.OWN.CRACKLAB.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.HAS.A.PRESENT.COMING.FROM.HUGHESMISSILES.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.FILLS.ME.WITH.BELLIGERENCE.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.DRINKS.LISTERINE.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.CAN.GO.FUCK.ITSELF.AT.SECZY.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.ARE.GODDAMN.PIGFUCKERS.NET.NS-NOT-IN-SERVICE.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.AND.MINDSUCK.BOTH.SUCK.HUGE.ONES.AT.EXEGETE.NET
MICROSOFT.COMTo single out one record, look it up with “xxx”, where xxx is one of the of the records displayed above. If the records are the same, look them up with “=xxx” to receive a full display for each record.
Posted in Corporation, Microsoft |
April 11th, 2007 at 4:56 pm
I believe this doesn’t show anything… anybody can register a subdomain in their domain…
The hack would be if you would see:
somethingbad.com.microsoft.com, not microsoft.com.somethingbad.com
April 12th, 2007 at 3:29 pm
This is so lame. Those are subdomains of domains that do not belong to Microsoft in the first place. Anybody could create a sub-domain such as microsoft-sucks.mydomain.com.
Go learn about domains/DNS before submitting this rubbish!
April 24th, 2007 at 4:12 pm
Geez, stotty. What’s up with the attitude? Talk about being lame…
April 30th, 2007 at 11:59 am
Microsoft was not “hacked” (or cracked for that matter).
“Injecting” false records in WHOIS databases isn’t anything new… This sort of thing has been happening for years. Anyone have any more information on this phenomenon?
Also, what WHOIS server were you using?
tyl0r@laptop:~$ whois aol.com
Whois Server Version 2.0
Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.
Server Name: AOL.COM.ZZZZZ.GET.LAID.AT.WWW.SWINGINGCOMMUNITY.COM
IP Address: 69.41.185.197
Registrar: INNERWISE, INC. D/B/A ITSYOURDOMAIN.COM
Whois Server: whois.itsyourdomain.com
Referral URL: http://www.itsyourdomain.com
Server Name: AOL.COM.MORE.INFO.AT.WWW.BEYONDWHOIS.COM
IP Address: 203.36.226.2
Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Whois Server: whois.tucows.com
Referral URL: http://domainhelp.opensrs.net
Server Name: AOL.COM.IS.N0T.AS.1337.AS.GULLI.COM
IP Address: 80.190.192.24
Registrar: KEY-SYSTEMS GMBH
Whois Server: whois.rrpproxy.net
Referral URL: http://www.key-systems.net
Server Name: AOL.COM.IS.0WNED.BY.SUB7.NET
IP Address: 216.78.25.45
Registrar: INNERWISE, INC. D/B/A ITSYOURDOMAIN.COM
Whois Server: whois.itsyourdomain.com
Referral URL: http://www.itsyourdomain.com
Server Name: AOL.COM.AINT.GOT.AS.MUCH.FREE.PORN.AS.SECZ.COM
IP Address: 209.187.114.133
Registrar: INNERWISE, INC. D/B/A ITSYOURDOMAIN.COM
Whois Server: whois.itsyourdomain.com
Referral URL: http://www.itsyourdomain.com
Domain Name: AOL.COM
Registrar: AMERICA ONLINE, INC. DBA AOL AND/OR COMPUSERVE-AOL
Whois Server: whois.registrar.aol.com
Referral URL: http://www.registrar.aol.com
Name Server: DNS-01.NS.AOL.COM
Name Server: DNS-02.NS.AOL.COM
Name Server: DNS-06.NS.AOL.COM
Name Server: DNS-07.NS.AOL.COM
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 24-oct-2006
Creation Date: 22-jun-1995
Expiration Date: 23-nov-2007
>>> Last update of whois database: Mon, 30 Apr 2007 10:51:35 UTC
April 30th, 2007 at 8:18 pm
stotty I think you mean anybody could register this…
mydomain.com.microsoft-sucks.com
the “microsoft-sucks.com” being the part registered